Voting begins in pivotal Nanaimo provincial byelection

By NanaimoNewsNOW Staff
January 22, 2019 - 12:52pm Updated: April 22, 2019 - 12:27pm

Voting is underway in a critical byelection to fill the empty Nanaimo MLA seat.Kent Simmonds/CFJC Today

A list of voting locations and which day they are open for the Nanaimo byelection.Elections BC

NANAIMO — Voting is underway in what many are calling one of the most important byelections in B.C.'s history.

Advance polls opened Tuesday morning at 8 a.m. in Nanaimo for the byelection to fill a seat vacated by longtime NDP MLA Leonard Krog.

People can cast ballots each day this week between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. until Sunday, Jan. 27 at a variety of locations around the city. Residents within the riding are reminded to bring their where to vote cards and proper identification.

Six candidates are running in the byelection with the potential to alter the balance of power in the legislature between the governing New Democrats and the Opposition Liberals.

The seat is considered a New Democrat stronghold because the party has taken it 13 of the last 15 provincial elections.

Liberals are battling hard because a victory would give the party 43 seats, tying it with the 43 held by the New Democrat and Green alliance. Independent Darryl Plecas is currently serving as Speaker.

General voting day is Jan. 30. You can find more information from Elections BC here.


The candidates:

Justin Greenwood - BC Conservatives

Tony Harris - BC Liberals

Sheila Malcolmson - BC NDP

Michele Ney - BC Green Party

Robin Mark Richardson - Vancouver Island Party

Bill Walker - Libertarian

— with files from the Canadian Press

Nanaimo's provincial byelection candidates calmly clash in first debate