Nanaimo Senior B Timbermen and Snuneymuxw First Nation host President's Cup lacrosse tournament

By Dan Marshall
August 30, 2018 - 10:57am Updated: August 30, 2018 - 1:30pm

Jordan Cunningham (L) and Vaughn Harris (R) were named the Game MVP's in Nanaimo's first game of the President's Cup. The Tmen lost 9-7 to the Caughnawaga Indians.Nanaimo Sr. B Timbermen (facebook)

NANAIMO — Lacrosse fans were treated to great games and a first class event this week at Frank Crane Arena.
The 2018 President's Cup tournament began on Sunday and will culminate with the medal games on Sunday, Sept 2.
Lacrosse fans got to enjoy four or five games on the menu every day as eight teams from across Canada and even as far away as New York state played in the Harbour City.
The host Nanaimo Timbermen were joined by the Ladner Pioneers, St. Albert Miners, Saskatoon Brewers, Oakville Titans, Caughnawaga Indians, Capital Region Axemen and Onondaga Redhawks.
The opening ceremony on Sunday, Aug. 26 honoured the roots of the game put on by the Snuneymuxw First Nation and the Timbermen.


The host Timbermen played their first game late Sunday afternoon and lost 9-7 to the Caughawaga Indians out of Quebec.
The game was tied 4-4 in the third period before Caughnawaga went on a five goal run to take over the game.
Despite a late rally, Nanaimo came up short in their tournament debut.

The pregame warmup before Nanaimo's game with Caughnawaga:

Day two was a daunting task as the Tmen had to play two games eight hours apart.
It's a challenge every team has to dace, which Nanaimo defender Doug Langlois said is "unusual."
"We set a goal to win both of these games and we did. I don't remember the last time I've played two games in a day, it's been awhile," said Langlois.

#94 Doug Langlois wearing the logo of the Nanaimo Luckies, the last local team to win the President's Cup

Nanaimo beat Saskatoon 14-11 on Saturday morning with Sam Postma and Darrin Wilson leading the way with five points each.
In the night game the Timbermen outscored Onondaga out of New York 15-11.
Corey Shires, Jordan Cunningham, and Cory Conway each had eight points in the victory.

Goals by Doug Langlois and Corey Shires from  

Tuesday brought a tough test with the hosts playing the late night game against two-time defending national champions the St. Albert Miners.
It was a tight 6-4 game in the third until the Alberta reps reeled off two goals in six seconds to turn the tide.
The game finished 10-5 to leave Nanaimo at 2-2 and the Miners at an unblemished 4-0 record.
Timbermen president Shawn Swanson spoke after the game about the success both on and off the floor of the 2018 President's Cup.

On Wednesday Nanaimo finished the first half of the tournament with an 8-6 win over their BC rivals the Ladner Pioneers.
Captain Jon Diplock was named the game MVP with two goals and an assist.

Goaltender Pete Dubenski was instrumental in the win, making 35 saves.
He celebrated his 25th birthday on Wednesday and the Tmen had a cake brought to the dressing room for him after the game.
The mood was obviously upbeat around the Nanaimo dressing room as the Timbermen improved their record to 3-2.
They play again on Thursday against Oakville and Friday versus Capital Region before the playoffs begin.
Nanaimo will have to finish in the top four to be eligible to compete in Sunday's gold medal game.
The President's Cup has seen the local lacrosse community come out in large numbers to cheer on the home team.
Two members of Nanaimo's last championship team in 1969 Mike Gogo and Kenny Maughan have enjoyed the action and it's brought back memories of their days playing together with the Nanaimo Luckies.


All the information about the tournament including the schedule and stats can be found here.
[email protected]
On twitter: @danmarshall77


St. Albert beats Nanaimo 10-8 in overtime to capture third straight President's Cup