Clippers reflect on 2016-17 season at awards banquet

By Dan Marshall
March 16, 2017 - 9:28am Updated: March 16, 2017 - 11:46am

Clippers captain Spencer Hewson wins Most Popular Player at the 2016-17 awards banquet.Darcy Olsen

NANAIMO — The Nanaimo Clippers wrapped up the 2016-17 hockey season with their annual awards banquet Wednesday.

It was an opportunity to reflect on the accomplishments of the team and say some final goodbyes.

Four-year veteran Spencer Hewson and three-year defenseman Sean Buchanan both received awards as they finished their junior 'A' careers.

They were the only two players to be with the Clippers for more than two seasons, as the club went through a transitional year.

Other veterans who are leaving the team after their 20-year-old seasons are Taylor Karel, David Eccles, and Josh Blanchard.

Karel and Eccles played together as a defensive pair and were the co-winners of the Unsung Hero Award.

There are a number of Clippers who have college commitments and may be moving on to the NCAA next year.

Matt Creamer headlines that list. The team's leading goalscorer picked up awards for MVP and Most Inspirational Player at the ceremony.

He's scheduled to attend Quinnipiac University in either the fall of 2017 or 2018.

Lucas Finner, Ben Solin, Jamie Collins, Marcus Joseph, and Ben Taylor all have NCAA commitments, with Finner and Collins possible returnees for this fall, the rest likely college bound.

Nanaimo will have a large number of players coming back for the 2017-18 campaign, which is a far cry from the predicament they faced one year ago when they had to replace their top two forward lines, top four defensemen, and both goalies.


Here is a complete list of the 2016-2017 Clippers Awards 

  • Volunteer of the Year - James Dickinson
  • Most Popular Player - Spencer Hewson
  • Leading Scorer - Ben Solin
  • Most Exciting Player - Lucas Finner
  • Best Scholastic Player - Matt Kowalski
  • Most Improved Player - Jake Harris
  • Lisa McPherson (Courage Award) - Jamie Collins
  • Best Two Way Player - Tristan Crozier
  • Unsung Hero - Taylor Karel/David Eccles
  • Most Inspirational - Matt Creamer
  • Most Valuable Defenseman - Sean Buchanan
  • Rookie of the Year - Jamie Collins
  • Coach's Award - David Silye
  • MVP - Matt Creamer


[email protected]

On twitter: @danmarshall77

Nanaimo wheelchair curler returns from World Championships in Korea