Finalists announced for sports excellence and achievement

By NanaimoNewsNOW Staff
January 28, 2017 - 7:53am Updated: January 28, 2017 - 9:20am

Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards

NANAIMO — The list has been whittled down and finalists for the Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards have been announced. Forty-five athletes and six teams are nominated across 17 categories. 

The Michael Rhode Memorial Award for a longtime dedication to sport will also be handed out. The winners will be awarded at the 12th annual awards gala on Feb. 17 at the Coast Bastion Hotel.



Male Team Athlete of the Year - Josh Burgmann, baseball; Dustin Rodriguez, football; Shun Takano, soccer.

Female Team Athlete of the Year - Sienna Pollard, basketball; Tylar Turnbull, volleyball; Marika Van Osch, curling.

Male Individual Athlete of the Year - Dallas Jones, golf; Tyler Radelja, 10-pin bowling; Ross Walker, boxing.

Female Individual Athlete of the Year - Lorrie Baildham, cycling; Ivy Richardson, boxing; Shelly Stouffer, golf.

Male Junior Team Athlete of the Year - Isaac Bevis, volleyball; Finn Bradbrooke, football; Will Cookman, lacrosse.

Female Junior Team Athlete of the Year - Hayley Goodwin, volleyball; Madeline Hart, basketball; Veronica Wong, baseball.

Male Junior Individual Athlete of the Year - Adin Brenner, gymnastics; Tayden De Pol, swimming; Ayden Houle, cycling.

Female Junior Individual Athlete of the Year - Hassy Fashina-Bombata, track and field; Alicia Fiandor, judo; Meg Montgomery, rowing.

Masters Athlete of the Year - Nola Hendrie, track and field; Dwayne Johnston, jiu-jitsu; James Scantland, swimming.

Partners of the Year - Erin MacNeil and Sophie Dendes, beach volleyball; B.J. Laredo and Scott Steel, pro wrestling; Gus Thorne and Donn Sherry, blind lawn bowling.

Team of the Year - Nanaimo Hornets Div. 1 men’s rugby; Vancouver Island University Mariners women’s basketball; VIU Mariners women’s volleyball.

Junior Team of the Year - Nanaimo Buccaneers U18 baseball; Nanaimo District Islanders junior varsity football; Upper Island Storm U14 girls’ soccer.

High Performance Coach of the Year - Robert Biernacki, jiu-jitsu; Craig Rutherford, rowing; Janice Walker, badminton.

Grassroots Coach of the Year - Meghan Carver, volleyball; Raf Korkowski, weightlifting; Shawn Owen, volleyball.

Sport Administrator of the Year - Mike Holyk, baseball; Jereme MacKinnon, baseball; Vicky Long, hockey.

Official of the Year - Mike Eade, baseball; Ryan Sirk, hockey; Garrett Watson, lacrosse/soccer.

Sports Story of the Year - Great International World Championship Bathtub Race celebrates 50th anniversary; Nanaimo, District Islanders and John Barsby Bulldogs play against each other in B.C. football final; Nanaimo, Track and Field Club hosts B.C. High School Track and Field Championships.


[email protected]

On Twitter: @nanaimonewsnow

Clippers on three game winning streak after 4-3 OT win in Salmon Arm